VSO and me

In the next six months or so, I’m going to trade London and my job as a policy assistant with the Church Commissioners for the life of a VSO volunteer.

I don’t know where I’m going. I don’t know what I’ll be doing. I’ve received my medical clearance though so that’s a plus. I haven’t had any vaccinations yet and the length of that particular list amuses me. There are days when I can’t imagine anything better and days when I am petrified of leaving my little comfort zone.

I’m already an expat. I moved to London from New Zealand over 2 and a half years ago to study, and I stayed. I love living here. I have two homes, 12,000 miles apart, family all over the place and many friends that I count as family. I enjoy challenges.

Welcome to my world and my adventures.

One Comment Add yours

  1. huggies says:

    Fi!!
    I’m so sad I missed you in New Zealand 😦 When will I get another chance to see you? Sob…

    I met a VSO volunteer in Malawi. She was in the same lodge as me. The one that got robbed…yeeah. But I wouldn’t have met her otherwise, so that’s cool.
    All the same, if you get sent to Malawi, pleeeease be careful about where you stay. You need someone with vigilant security. But otherwise the country is great, and I don’t want to turn you off the beautiful people I met. I even got adopted by one family, hehe.

    And your friends Shefali and Eveline (and their housemate Sam) are AWESOME and I had a fabulous time staying with them in Dar Es Salaam. It was such a big help to stay with people I could trust, particularly at nighttimes which were still pretty scary for me anywhere in Africa.

    Chin up lady, you have amazing talents and I know you can take anything God can dish you out. He got me home safely, and looked after me well. I pray he’ll do equally awesomely with you.

    Sarah xx

Leave a Reply

